The glory of a good bag

Before I moved to the Bay Area, I never truly appreciated the usefulness of a good bag. And not just a bag made of the finest Italian leather, hand-stitched in a small Tuscan villa, etched with the blood, sweat, and tears of someone’s grandmother. I have an appreciation for those bags, but those aren’t the kind I’m talking about today.

When I started having to walk everywhere and take public transportation, I quickly realized a tote bag wasn’t going to cut it. I needed a bag that could withstand a homeless person tugging on the strap, a bag that would be hard to slash open with a box cutter so someone could steal all my shit, a bag that could stand the weathers of train stations, city sidewalks, and dive bar counters, a bag that could stand the test of time.

I am still on the search for that perfect bag, but today, I am one step closer. Behold:

Image

And as much as I love this bag, I’m still on the lookout for something with a bit more size, maybe a few more zipper pockets, and for fear of sounding a bit snobby, a bit more high end. (I’ve never bought myself a super nice bag.)

On that note, any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “The glory of a good bag

  1. I’ll gladly be on the lookout for you now that I know your criteria:) great blog Megan! It’s fun reading your work, you’re a really great writer! Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

